Latest Travel Ban Halted By Federal Judge

Oct 18, 2017

A federal judge in Hawaii blocked President Trump’s latest executive order restricting citizens of several countries from entering the United States. The ban was due to be implemented this week. The ban affects people from Iran, Libya, Syria, Yemen, Somalia, Chad, and North Korea as well as some Venezuelan government officials. Hawaii argued that “federal immigration law did not give [the president] the authority to impose the restrictions on six of those countries.” Judge Watson said that the White House policy “suffers from precisely the same maladies as its predecessor: it lacks sufficient findings that the entry of more that 150 million nationals from six specified countries would be ‘detrimental to the interests of the United States.’” The judge said that the “national security rationale was undermined by the fact that it is not known how the president settled on the countries designated by the ban.” The White House called the ruling “dangerously flawed” and expressed confidence that the ruling would be overturned. The ACLU has separate challenges to the travel ban in Maryland. But the court has not yet made a ruling.